I wrote last week about two sources of triathlon inspiration that I found recently. But something that I never thought of is that maybe I am able to provide a tiny nugget of inspiration as well. I never pictured myself as inspiring; I just do things that I enjoy. And right now, that happens to be endurance sports. A few occurrences in the past couple weeks have gotten me thinking about where inspiration comes from though.

First off, my sister started running about 2 weeks ago. Her preferred exercise is usually yoga, pilates, Zumba, or some weight lifting. She is moving out to the country pretty soon though, and the gym will be a 25 minute drive each way to get to one of those group fitness classes. One of the great things about running is that you just have to put on your shoes and step out your door, and you get a great workout with no travel time at all. After her first few runs, she sent me a text that said “you are an inspiration.” What?! Since when have I done anything even remotely inspiring?! (Huge shoutout to my big sis, she is doing awesome at running! She is starting off smart, nice and easy and a mix of run and walk. And she is really enjoying it, go Aaron!!!)

Second, I was out for a run last week around my neighborhood. I was almost home and saw a woman walking on the road coming towards me. As she got closer, she started an easy jog, and said “You inspired me!” as we passed each other. I told her she looked great and to keep it up.

My main point is that you really never know when you will give a little boost to someone else. We all expect that from folks who are well seasoned athletes, at the top of their field, and sharing their stories through blogs or their own YouTube channel. But every person has the ability to inspire someone, even when they aren’t trying and don’t realize it. Even for a slowish runner or a beginner triathlete (like me!), you can still inspire others to try new things, step out of their comfort zone, or just get better at something they already love. All that is a very long-winded way of saying you never know when your story will inspire someone, so keep doing what you do and being the awesome you that you are!

IMAG1726
Good morning giant Gumby!

On a totally unrelated note, I saw this amazing sight on my hilly bike ride Saturday morning. I loved Gumby when I was a kid! And I will admit that I wore a Gumby t-shirt well into my 20’s. This made me very happy for my whole ride 🙂

Have a great week!

