A Friday off of work is a wonderful gift, and I can’t think of a better way to make the most of it than with an early morning run. Although sleeping in on a chilly January morning is also quite nice! I had yesterday off because of an obscure holiday in Virginia called Lee Jackson Day. But I can trust in the state government to observe the holiday, which means that I get the day off. Hooray!

Richmond’s main claim to fame is the James River, which runs through the heart of the city and is surrounded on each bank by a linear park system. There are awesome trails for running, mountain biking, or just getting out into the woods with your pup. I headed down to the river yesterday morning for my scheduled long run of the week. My training plan called for 14 miles, but I due to other scheduled activities for my day off, I wasn’t going to be able to make it that far. I decided to run as far as I could with the time I had, and set off on the trail. After a hilly miles, I took a quick break on “Bubba’s Bench” to enjoy the gorgeous morning view of the James River.

imag1452
My view from Bubba’s Bench

It was really perfect weather for a run: overcast and around 55. I got a chance to test out eating during my run with a planned mid-way stop back at my car. I don’t usually like to eat during a run, but with a 50k trail run I will certainly need to take in some calories to keep me going. I tried out applesauce yesterday, and it was perfect! Refreshing and moist, with a burst of energy from simple carbs.

I basically had the trail to myself the entire morning, although I did come across some furry and feathered friends along the way. I saw a fluffy red fox, sneaking across the trail and into the underbrush; a white-tail deer doe, wide-eyed and standing stock still in hopes that I wouldn’t see her (not a chance, she was no more than 10 feet from me!); 2 beautiful great blue herons, one searching for his fishy breakfast along the canal and the other swooping low over my head; a regal cormorant stretched out on a branch in the river, trying to soak up as much sun as possible; and of course the usual accompaniment of chubby cheeked squirrels digging around in the dense leaves. It goes to show that if you are quiet enough and out early enough, you get the chance to catch a glimpse of those more secretive residents of the river park system.

I managed to fit in 11.18 miles, with an average pace of 11:51 min/mile. I feel so slow on trails, but I know that I am building endurance and strong leg and core muscles. It is amazing how sore every small muscle in my whole lower body is after a long trail run, even when there is so much less pounding on my feet and knees. Hopefully I will see improving pace times as I get stronger and can go for longer.

There is nothing quite like a long trail run to get you going in the morning, enjoying all the hidden gems that your city has to offer. And also to get you very dirty!

Until next time, happy weekend!

imag1457